Feel Your Vibrations!

/, Personal Impact/Feel Your Vibrations!

Feel Your Vibrations!

After reading our last article, you have probably begun to pay attention to the changes in your voice that occur depending on your social role in a given conversation.  Today we’ll begin with three short exercises to help you develop a better feeling for your voice and to influence it in a targeted way.

The goal is to offer your conversation partner an acoustic meeting area with your voice. This area should be large enough that your partner feels like he or she is being spoken to – so you both can find a “shared wavelength.”

That’s why, for example, a deeper and fuller voice is often perceived as being more pleasant and more competent. However, it’s not about trying to speak lower or pressing your voice down. It’s about finding your own personal quality of vibration. Yet how can we find this?

Your voice is generated when air is transported from the lungs, through the neck, towards your mouth. Then, inside the neck, the vocal cords move as the air is flowing through them, thus producing vibrations in that airflow.

The best indicator for the presence of your voice is not how you sound, but rather that you feel your own voice. More specifically: that you feel the effects of the vibrations of your vocal cords in your head.

There are certain groups of sounds that help us with this process of feeling the resonance. These include sounds such as “m,” “n,” and “ng.”

This simple exercise to explore and expand your own vocal tone can even help you with a light cold or hoarseness in your voice: Without much exertion, simply try to hum while focusing entirely on the feeling of your voice on your lips. This relaxes the vocal cords considerably. As long as this feeling of vibration remains on your lips, your voice will not become completely hoarse.

With a little practice, hoarseness can be prevented entirely.

Repeat these exercises regularly! Experiment with these consonants and develop a feeling for your sound! Learn to feel your own voice so that in the next step you can develop it to achieve specific aims!

Have fun and good luck!

By | 2018-04-04T15:49:02+00:00 November 25th, 2017|negotiation Tips, Personal Impact|0 Comments

About the Author:

... is a professor for media-specific speaking as well as a trainer and business coach for optimizing the personal impact of his customers. Originally he was a professional speaker and actor, but he also knows the high demands on negotiators and those who make public appearances, as well as the challenges of speechwriting, press conferences, camera training, and related fields.

Leave A Comment

Nach Lektüre des letzten Beitrags haben Sie begonnen, auf die Veränderungen Ihrer Stimme zu achten, die abhängig von Ihrer sozialen Rolle eintreten. Heute beginnen wir mit drei kurzen Übungen, ein tieferes Gefühl für unsere Stimme zu entwickeln und gezielt Einfluss auf sie zu nehmen.

Ziel ist es, dem Kommunikationspartner durch unsere Stimme eine akustische Begegnungsfläche zu bieten. Diese Fläche sollte groß genug sein, damit Ihr Gesprächspartner sich angesprochen fühlt – damit Sie beide eine „gemeinsame Wellenlänge“ finden.

So wird beispielsweise oft eine sonorere Stimme als angenehmer und kompetenter empfunden. Es wird aber nie darum gehen, tiefer oder herunter gedrückter zu sprechen. Vielmehr gilt es, Ihre individuelle Schwingungsqualität zu finden. Doch wie finden wir diese?

Ihre Stimme entsteht, indem Luft von den Lungen aus durch den Hals in Richtung Mund transportiert wird. Im Hals bewegen sich dann die Stimmbänder so lange in diesen Atemstrom hinein, bis dieser sie in Schwingung versetzen kann.

Das beste Kriterium für die Präsenz Ihrer Stimme ist nicht, wie Sie sich hören, sondern dass Sie Ihre Stimme spüren. Genauer gesagt: dass Sie die Auswirkungen der Schwingungen Ihrer Stimmbänder im Kopf spüren.

In unserer Sprache haben wir Lautgruppen, die Ihnen bei diesem Spürvorgang helfen: die sogenannten Klinger. Klinger nennt man Laute wie „m“, „n“ und „ng“.

Diese einfache Übung zur Erforschung und Erweiterung Ihres eigenen Stimmklangs hilft Ihnen sogar bei leichter Heiserkeit oder Erkältung: Versuchen Sie einfach, mit wenig Anstrengung und mit der ausschließlichen Konzentration auf Ihr Stimmgefühl an den Lippen, zu summen. Das entspannt die Stimmbänder deutlich. Und solange Ihnen dieses Schwinggefühl an den Lippen bleibt, werden Sie nicht komplett heiser werden.

Mit etwas Übung lässt sich Heiserkeit ganz vermeiden.

Wiederholen Sie diese Erfahrungen regelmäßig! Experimentieren Sie mit den Klingern und entwickeln Sie ein Gespür für Ihren Klang! Lernen Sie Ihre Stimme zu spüren, um sie im nächsten Schritt gezielt zu entwickeln!

Viel Spaß und Erfolg!